MiliRoute vs OptimoRoute: Which Route Planner Fits Your Deliveries?
OptimoRoute and MiliRoute both optimize delivery routes, but they target different operations. OptimoRoute is a fleet planning and tracking platform priced per driver per month: it handles time windows, vehicle capacities, driver skills, workload balancing, live tracking and planning up to weeks ahead. MiliRoute is a route optimization app for individual drivers and small teams, with a free plan for routes of up to 10 stops and a flat A$15/month Premium plan.
This comparison uses each company's published information so you can see where each one fits. If you are still deciding what kind of tool you need, start with our guide to AI route optimization software for delivery fleets.
How this comparison was made
- OptimoRoute information comes from its pricing and features pages, checked on 1 October 2026. These are company-stated capabilities; we did not test OptimoRoute for this article.
- MiliRoute information is verified against the product. MiliRoute is our product, so treat this as a vendor-written comparison and check what matters to you.
- "Not stated" means the feature was not mentioned on the pages checked. It does not mean the feature is absent.
The core difference
OptimoRoute plans for a fleet. A planner loads orders, the system assigns them to drivers and vehicles while respecting constraints, and then tracks execution. OptimoRoute's features page lists "driver skills, costs, vehicle capacities", order "priorities, time windows, job durations", workload balancing "by hours or order count", weekly planning up to 5 weeks ahead and flexible shift start times.
MiliRoute plans for a driver. A driver (or an owner who drives) enters their own stops, optimizes the order on estimated driving times, navigates, and records each stop with proof of delivery. Each driver has their own route; MiliRoute does not assign one shared order pool across vehicles.
Feature comparison
| Criterion | MiliRoute | OptimoRoute | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stop-order optimization | Yes, on estimated driving times from Google's road-routing data; exact up to 13 intermediate stops | Yes ("Automated Planning") | MiliRoute verified; OptimoRoute company-stated |
| Assign orders across drivers | No | Yes | Company-stated |
| Time windows, job durations, priorities | No | Yes | Company-stated |
| Vehicle capacity, driver skills | No | Yes | Company-stated |
| Workload balancing | No | Yes, by hours or order count | Company-stated |
| Multi-day / weekly planning | No | Weekly planning up to 5 weeks ahead (Pro; "contact to activate") | Company-stated |
| Start and end points | GPS or address start; optional end address | Flexible driver start times | Both as stated |
| Truck / hazmat routing | No | Yes (listed as a feature; commercial routing on Custom plan) | Company-stated |
| Mid-route depots | No | "Dynamic Mid-Route Depots" (Custom plan) | Company-stated |
| Driver app | Yes (Android + web) | Yes | Both |
| Live tracking and ETAs | No | Yes (Lite and up) | Company-stated |
| Customer ETA notifications | No | "Realtime Order Tracking" (Pro) | Company-stated |
| Proof of delivery | Signature, photo, note, 12 failure reasons (all accounts) | Signatures, photos, custom forms (Pro) | Both |
| Barcode / address scanning | Camera scanner reads addresses and business names | Barcode scanning to confirm completion | Both as stated |
| Route sharing between drivers | Yes, by link | Not stated | MiliRoute verified |
| Avoid tolls | Yes | Not stated | MiliRoute verified |
| Analytics | Per-route, PDF export | Yes (Pro) | Both |
| API | Not offered as a product | Web Service API (Lite and up) | Company-stated |
| Exports | Analytics PDF | Excel, Garmin and more | Both as stated |
| App languages | 11 | Not stated | MiliRoute verified |
| Free option | Free plan, routes up to 10 stops | 30-day trial, no credit card | Both stated |
Pricing: per driver vs flat
OptimoRoute (pricing page, checked 1 October 2026):
- Lite: $35.10 per driver per month, billed annually (up to 700 orders at once).
- Pro: $44.10 per driver per month, billed annually (up to 1,000 orders at once).
- Custom: contact sales.
- Monthly billing is available; the page says annual billing gives a 10% discount. The page does not name the currency, so confirm the price for your region.
MiliRoute (AUD): free for routes of up to 10 stops; Premium A$15/month or A$140/year per account, unlimited stops. Each driver who needs routes over 10 stops needs their own Premium account.
How the totals scale (list prices, before any tax or regional pricing):
| Team | OptimoRoute Lite (annual billing) | MiliRoute Premium (monthly) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 driver | 1 × $35.10 = $35.10/month | A$15/month |
| 3 drivers | 3 × $35.10 = $105.30/month | 3 × A$15 = A$45/month |
| 5 drivers | 5 × $35.10 = $175.50/month | 5 × A$15 = A$75/month |
The difference is mostly what you are buying. OptimoRoute's per-driver price includes live tracking, an API, constraint-based fleet planning and (on Pro) customer notifications. MiliRoute's price covers driver-side optimization, proof of delivery and analytics. If you need fleet planning, compare OptimoRoute with other fleet platforms, not with MiliRoute's price. See budget route optimization for more scenarios.
Availability in Australia
Both can be used by Australian businesses. OptimoRoute's pricing page lists a support contact for Australia. MiliRoute is built in Australia, prices in AUD, and its optimization uses Google's road-routing data for Australian roads. See our guide for Australian delivery fleets.
When OptimoRoute is the better fit
- You plan for several drivers or vehicles from one pool of orders.
- Your jobs have time windows, durations, priorities or skill requirements (field service as well as delivery).
- You need live tracking, ETAs and customer notifications. See live tracking vs route planning.
- You plan days or weeks ahead, or need multi-depot and mid-route depot planning.
- You need an API or exports into other systems.
When MiliRoute is the better fit
- You are a courier or delivery driver who plans your own route each day.
- Your team is small and each driver owns a run.
- You want to start free (routes of up to 10 stops) and then pay a flat A$15/month, not per driver per month plus annual billing.
- You enter stops from labels and lists and want a camera scanner.
- Your drivers use the app in languages such as Chinese, Hindi, Farsi, Filipino or Thai.
Conclusion
OptimoRoute is a planning and tracking platform for fleets with constraints; MiliRoute is a route optimizer for the person driving the route. Decide by asking who plans the route and which constraints are real for you. Then test both on the same day of stops. For another dispatch-platform comparison, see MiliRoute vs Routific; for a driver-side planner, see MiliRoute vs Circuit (Spoke).
Test on your own stops: start MiliRoute free (routes of up to 10 stops), and run the same day in OptimoRoute's 30-day trial.
Frequently asked questions
Is MiliRoute an OptimoRoute alternative?
For individual drivers and small teams where each driver plans their own route, yes. For fleet planning with time windows, capacities, workload balancing and live tracking, OptimoRoute covers features MiliRoute does not offer.
How much does OptimoRoute cost?
OptimoRoute's pricing page (checked 1 October 2026) lists Lite at $35.10 and Pro at $44.10 per driver per month billed annually, with a Custom plan on request. The page says annual billing includes a 10% discount compared with monthly billing.
Does OptimoRoute have a free plan?
OptimoRoute offers a 30-day free trial with no credit card required, according to its pricing page. MiliRoute has a free plan for routes of up to 10 stops.
Does OptimoRoute work in Australia?
OptimoRoute's pricing page lists a support contact for Australia (Oceania). Check its site for local pricing and road data.
Which one handles time windows?
OptimoRoute lists time windows, job durations and priorities as planning constraints. MiliRoute's optimizer orders stops by estimated driving time and does not plan around time windows.
Can I track my drivers with MiliRoute?
No. MiliRoute records delivered and failed stops with proof, but it does not provide live GPS tracking of drivers. OptimoRoute lists live tracking on its Lite plan and above.